The settings file has been changed externally Follow
This isn't specific to 6 but it just occured to me now so I figured I would post it.
Many times I work with 2, 3 or even 5 visual studios open all running resharper.
When I close them all down sometimes I'm left with
"JetBrains Product - Settings
THe settings file .....usersettings.xml has been changed externally,
Would you like to overwrite it with the current settings?"
I never have any idea whats going to happen when I click yes or no. This dialog is extremely unhelpful.
Please sign in to leave a comment.
I second this.
With often 4 or 5 VS solutions open at any given time it is almost impossible to know exactly which settings have been changed and whether "yes" or "no" will preserve the correct set of settings.
Furthermore when closing multiple solution at the same time (e.g. during a shutdown) often 3 or 4 instances of this dialog will pop up and it is impossible to know which choices should be made to preserve the desired settings.
I created http://youtrack.jetbrains.net/issue/RSRP-265912 for this issue.
If I could 3rd, 4th and 5th this too - this message box is the worst piece of UI I can currently think of in any bit of software, and I've been meaning to complain about it on here for ages.
* I shouldn't need to answer it, because the software could behave reasonably anyway
* It's impossible to answer correctly because you can't tell which instance is asking, and which settings it's asking about.
As far as I can tell, if R# did the following:
* Loaded (reloaded) the settings from the settings file on disk when the user opens the settings dialog
* Saved the settings to the settings file on disk when the user OKs the settings dialog
Then things would work about as well as could be reasonably expected. Of course there are corner cases - other instances won't immediately change behaviour when you change a setting, and opening the settings dialog box in two instances at the same time would cause one set to be lost, but at least we'd be spared the stupid message box. What have I missed here?
BTW, I have come to the conclusion that one should always click 'no', but I don't really know why, it just seems that you lose settings less often.
Hello Chris, Lawrence amd Will,
Thank you for feedback! We're well aware of this problem and this is something
we're currently working on.
Senior Support Engineer
"Develop with pleasure!"