'Move to Resource' prompts to overwrite Designer.cs file. How to avoid?

Most of the time, the 'Move to Resource' feature prompts to save or overwrite the .Designer.cs file. I can't figure out why or how to prevent it. With thousands of strings to extract, this extra click is wasting a lot of time.

The following dialog appears:

Conflicting Modifications Detected

The file Resources.Designer.cs has changed since you opened it. Would you like to save the version you have open over the changes on disk?

Save As...   Overwrite    (and 3 more buttons)

Note: on the Move to Resource dialog:

"Find identical items" is checked.
"To enable Undo, open all files" is checked.

Language: C#
ReSharper 8.2.3.5176
Visual Studio 11.0.60610.1
Windows 7

2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello,

Might possibly help if you uncheck "…to enable Undo" and close those designer
files. Not sure though.


Serge Baltic
JetBrains, Inc — http://www.jetbrains.com
“Develop with pleasure!”


0
Comment actions Permalink

For typed access to the resouces Visual Studio generates a class from the Resources.resx file. If you use the "Move to resource" refactoring you change the .resx file which triggers the regeneration of the .designer file.

Regards
Klaus

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.